A total of 984 Delegates attended the RA at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare, Rosemont, IL on April 8th and 9th. 


President Kathy Griffin called the meeting to order at 9:21 a.m, our land was acknowledged by Jen Curran, and the program began. The invocation was provided by the Rev. Dr. Otis Moss III and the attendees demonstrated an appreciation of the United States Flag. The Welcome Address was given by President Kathy Griffin and the business proceeded.


Elections were held for the following positions:

Bill Farmer Candidate for NEA Director - District 4 

Susan Nicholas Candidate for NEA Director - District 3

Both of these candidates ran unopposed and were confirmed.


There were 8 Proposed Bylaw Amendments (PBA):

  1. Changes “Student Members” to Aspiring Educators - ADOPTED

  2. Clarifies ESPs receive reduced dues as RIF members or have a legal challenge pending - ADOPTED

  3. Substitutes Region Ethnic Minority Representatives as auto delegates to IEA RA in place of electing at large EM delegates. Also, creates Alternate Region EM position. - ADOPTED

  4. Allows IEA dispensation to local (s) to use electronic voting for local officers and “IEA-level elections”. - WITHDRAWN

  5. Removes NEA Director Districts. Reverts back to NEA Directors elected statewide.- ADOPTED

  6. Provides weighted voting for BOD if Board determines IEA is not in compliance with one person, one vote requirement. - WITHDRAWN

  7. Creates districts that overlay current regions & provide District Representatives to be elected to the Board rather than Region Chairs. - WITHDRAWN

  8. Changes dues structure - ADOPTED (after 65 comments)


A luncheon for Higher Education Delegates was held provided by Council Chair Emerita Region 67, Beverly Stewart. Each attendee introduced themselves and we learned more about the responsibilities and networked with each other as well. 

President Kathy Griffin shared her concerns about Adjunct Faculty, pointing out how this group is underpaid, overworked, hardworking, and good teachers. I shared the Adjunct Faculty Student Loan Forgiveness Bill with Frank Brooks and he is reviewing the information and was not aware that Senators Durbin, Duckworth, Hirono, and Booker had introduced the Bill.  Frank advised me that this would be a great amendment to be supported by NEA and I am waiting to hear back from him for my next steps. During the luncheon, each participant received gifts that were AMAZING, an umbrella, and a wooden utensil set along with other IEA RA Assembly paraphernalia.

The NEA this summer at McCormick Place in downtown Chicago.

Report submitted by Dr. Elizabeth Boone